Student debt

March 20, 2009

Universities are increasingly coming more bureaucratic and business-like rather than places of learning. This article http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/7946912.stm suggests that many vice-chancellors believe we as students should pay more for our education. Seriously is this necessary? University is all ready going to leave me with appox.  £18,000 worth or debt. That is already excessive and take me years to pay back. Who knows what my job chances are when I leave with the current economic crisis as it is. University should not be an elitist institution where only the rich can afford to go. In the modern world education should be available to everyone no matter what your background or your economic situation is like.  When my mum went to uni in the 1980’s she didn’t have to pay a single penny in tuition fees. I would like to see a return to that, education is not about making money but helping people to achieve their full potential.

Every student who reads this, or anyone who believes in anything I have said should sign this petition. http://petitions.number10.gov.uk/NohigherFees/
Hopefully this will help prevent our tuition fees being raised.

Leave a comment