Uncertainty.

March 29, 2009

The thoughts I’ve had over the past week or so have generally been focused around wanting to be more involved in politics. The problem is, I find doing anything productive quite difficult (evident in this blog as it hasn’t been updated regularly). Since coming to university last September, I have become more educated and aware of issues and now have a growing urge to do something constructive. We are living in a turning point in history and the decisions leaders of world make now(e.g the current economic crisis), will have implications for the next decade or so. The G20 conference next week is crucial as the leaders of the world get together and decide what to do about the future. (There are some very good articles in the New Statesman http://www.newstatesman.com about it) Yesterday there was a massive demonstration in London called put people first which was attended by around 35,000 people marching for jobs, justice, and climate. I really wanted to go especially as since my uni ran a free coach there, but I was completely daunted by the prospect of going on my own since I wasn’t sure if any of my friends would have gone. Next year I plan to join more societies at uni to meet some more like-minded people and to generally be more pro-active. I am possibly the biggest procrastinator you will ever meet. There is another big demonstration happening on Wednesday next week but I am faced by the same fear of going alone and I am quite overdrawn, not really being able to justify travelling to London.

On a semi-related politics note I came across this song the other day, and despite hip-hop not really being my ‘thing’ I really enjoyed it. It relays a very powerful message and insight to the conflict in Gaza.

Leave a comment